Press "Enter" to skip to content

April 2, 2017

Richmond Marriott Hotel Downtown

Council Members Present
Eric L. Olsen (Stafford County), Chairman
Patricia T. Watson (Greensville Co./Emporia), First Vice Chairman
LaBravia J. Jenkins (Fredericksburg), Past Chairman

Council District Representatives:

1.   La Bravia J. Jenkins (Fredericksburg)
2.   Nathan R. Green (Williamsburg/James City County)
3.   Georgette C. Phillips (Isle of Wight)
4.   Ann Cabell Baskervill (Dinwiddie County)
5.   James P. Fisher (Fauquier County)
6.   Donald S. Caldwell (Roanoke City)
7.   Travis D. Bird (Spotsylvania County)
8.   Theo K. Stamos (Arlington County/Falls Church)
9.   Christian E. Rehak (Radford)
10. Marc H. Abrams (Winchester)

Other Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Present
Joel R. Branscom (Botetourt County)
Paul B. Ebert (Prince William County)
E. M. Wright (Buckingham County)
Michael R. Doucette (Lynchburg)
John L. Mahoney (Caroline County)
Holly Smith (Gloucester County)
Colin D. Stolle (Virginia Beach)
Anton A. Bell (Hampton)
Gregory D. Underwood (Norfolk)
C. Phillips Ferguson (Suffolk)
William B. Bray (Colonial Heights)
Darrel W. Puckett (Appomattox County)
R. Bryan Haskins (Pittsylvania County)
David L. Ledbetter (Waynesboro)
John C. Singleton (Bath County)
Theresa J. Royall (Nottoway County)
Bryan L. Porter (Alexandria)
Gerald D. Arrington (Buchanan County)
Charles H. Slemp (Wise County)
James E. Plowman (Loudoun County)
Mike Newman (Danville)
Trip Chalkley (Hanover County)
Billy Davenport (Chesterfield County)
Shannon Taylor (Henrico County)
Nancy Parr (Chesapeake)
Diana O’Connell (Orange County)
Pat Scales (Cumberland County)
Allen Nash (Mecklenburg County)
Charles Adkins (King & Queen County)
Eric Cooke (Southampton County/Franklin)
Cheryl S. Wilson (Petersburg)
Lyndia Ramsey (Sussex County)
Keri Gusmann (King George County)
Derek Davis (Surry County)
Mary Pettitt (Montgomery County)
Howard Gwynn (Newport News)
Rick Newman (Hopewell)
Tracy Q. Martin (Halifax County)
Megan L. Clark (Prince Edward County)
Mike Hurd (Middlesex County)
M. Andrew Nester (Henry County)
Jane Wrightson (Northumberland County)
Steve Eubank (Amherst County)
Vince Donoghue (Essex County)
Stephanie Vipperman (Patrick County)
Susan Fierro (Prince George County)

Linda Jackson, DFS
Amy Curtis, DFS
Katya Herdon, DFS
Neil Vener

Deputy Commonwealth’s Attorneys Present
Lori DiGiosia (Stafford County)
Betty Jo Anthony (Roanoke City)
Shannon Sherrill (Waynesboro)
Heather Hovermale (Winchester)
Andrew Childress (Amherst County)
Marie Walls (Suffolk)
Tom Shaia (Suffolk)
Lori Galbraith (Chesapeake)

CASC Staff Present
Jane Sherman Chambers
Call to Order
Mr. Olsen called the meeting to order at 1:02 p.m.

The draft minutes from the February 15, 2017, meeting were previously posted and circulated to Council.  The minutes were approved as submitted.

Chairman’s Report
Mr. Olsen reported that he had a conversation with Chief Medical Examiner William Gormley about concerns Dr. Gormley has regarding his staff being subpoenaed to court.  Multiple people are being subpoenaed to court on the same case, even when that is unnecessary.  They also are being subpoenaed for the entire length of the trial.  Mr. Olsen stated that Archie Williams is the Medical Examiners contact person.  Mr. Olsen will send out Mr. William’s photo and contact information.  Finally, Mr. Olsen reported that he talked to Dr. Gormley about giving a presentation at the Executive Program in December.

Administrator’s Report
Ms. Chambers reviewed the agenda items:

Old Business

CATF Update
Ms. Chambers reported that the March balance sheet was circulated with the agenda. Because the balance sheet only goes through March 27, it does not include the income (or loss) generated in March.  It does show that CASC has drawn $724,000 from the Fund to pay for 2017 Spring Institute.

2017 Spring Institute Reimbursement Process Update
Ms. Chambers reported that the reimbursement process seems to be going smoothly so far.  Each office has identified their reimbursement coordinator and they have been instructed on allowable expenses and how to complete the reimbursement forms.  Ms. Chambers thanked everyone for their cooperation and asks that they continue to respond to Ms. Heard of CASC while the reimbursement process is completed.  Ms. Chambers complimented Ms. Heard for all her efforts in this regard – it has been a huge task.

2017 Spring Institute Program Update
Ms. Chambers reminded members that each attendee has a nametag with a barcode that must be scanned in order to confirm attendance at Spring Institute.   Ms. Chambers reported that this year we have 765 registered attendees, which is a record.  Eight law students from William & Mary are helping CASC staff with registration.  Ms. Chambers asked members to say hello to the students and thank them for their time.  There are 5 vendors this year:  Software Unlimited, Prosecutor by Karpel, Image Soft, Journal Technologies and the Virginia Victim Fund (formerly known as the Virginia Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund.)  The program this year offers 17.5 CLE hours, including 3.5 in Ethics.  Ms. Chambers reminded members that the National Association of Attorneys General Training & Research Institute (NAGTRI) is conducting an officer-involved shooting training on Monday afternoon and Tuesday in the lower level of the hotel.  That training is open to Commonwealth’s Attorneys, deputy Commonwealth’s Attorneys, City/County Attorneys and their Chief Deputies, Sheriffs and Chiefs of Police.  Finally Ms. Chambers announced that the Department of Forensic Science will be offering tours at 1:00 p.m. on Wednesday afternoon.  Sign up at the CASC registration desk.

Recap:  Asset Forfeiture Training
Ms. Chambers reported that the 2017 Asset Forfeiture Training went very well.  There were 237 attendees and evaluation results showed that 100% of attendees rated the program Excellent or Good.

CASC Faculty Awards
Ms. Chambers reported that CASC staff will meet this month to flesh out the criteria for the CASC Faculty Awards.  They will have a recommendation for the awards committee and hope to have a recommendation for Council at the next meeting on May 3, 2017.  The goal is to have recipient nominations submitted and ready for a Council vote at the June 7, 2017 Council meeting.


New Business

Public Comment

There being no further business before Council, the meeting adjourned at 1:17 p.m.  The next regularly scheduled meeting is May 3, 2017, 12:00 noon, at the Henrico County Sheriff’s Office Conference Room.