Press "Enter" to skip to content

December 1, 2011

Stonewall Jackson Hotel

Council Members Present
David N. Grimes (Pittsylvania County), Chairman
Michael R. Doucette (Lynchburg), First Vice Chairman
Raymond F. Morrogh (Fairfax County), Secretary
Council District Representatives:

  1. LaBravia J. Jenkins (Fredericksburg)
  2. C. Linwood Gregory (New Kent County)
  3. Nancy G. Parr (Chesapeake)
  4. Harvey L. Bryant (Virginia Beach)
  5. Robert L. Bushnell (Henry County)
  6. Donald S. Caldwell (Roanoke City)
  7. S. Randolph Sengel (Alexandria)
  8. Alexander R. Iden (Winchester)
  9. Raymond F. Morrogh (Fairfax County)

Other Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Present
Daniel M. Chichester (Stafford County)
Joel R. Branscom (Botetourt County)
Eileen M. Addison (York County)
Paul B. Ebert (Prince William County)
Linda D. Curtis (Hampton)
Nathan Green (Williamsburg/James City County)
Matthew J. Britton (King George County)
William B. Bray (Colonial Heights)
E. M. Wright (Buckingham County)
James R. Ennis (Prince Edward County)
Stephanie Maddox (Amherst County)
John C. Singleton (Bath County)
Gary L. Close (Culpeper County)
Richard E. Trodden (Arlington County/FallsChurch)
James E. Plowman (Loudoun County)
James P. Fisher (Fauquier County)
Denise Lunsford (Albemarle County)
Robert N. Joyce (Lexington/Rockbridge County)
Michael Newman (Danville)
Raymond C. Robertson (Staunton)
Trip Chalkley (Hanover County)
Eric Cooke (Franklin/Southampton County)
William W. Davenport (Chesterfield County)
Marsha L. Garst (Harrisonburg/Rockingham County)
Patricia D. Scales (Cumberland County)
Lisa Caruso (Dinwiddie County)
Edward K. Stein (Cumberland/Alleghany County)
Patricia Scales (Cumberland County)
Gregory Underwood (Norfolk)
Neil S. Vener (Campbell County)


Assistant Commonwealth’s Attorneys Present
Theo Stamos (Arlington)
Tom Shaia (Spotsylvania County)
Rusty McGuire (Louisa County)
Betty Jo Anthony (Roanoke City)
Cary Payne (Amherst County)
Jim Wiser (Suffolk)
Marshall Harrell (Salem)
Laurie Galbraith (Chesapeake)
Jeff Gaines (Staunton)

Tim Heaphy, U.S. Attorney, Western District
Neil McBride, U.S. Attorney, Eastern District
Molly Brown
Robert Cunningham, Commonwealth’s Attorney-elect (Lancaster County)
Amanda McDonald Wiseley, Commonwealth’s Attorney-elect (Shenandoah County)

CASC Staff Present
Robert Q. Harris
Jane Sherman Chambers

Call to Order
Mr. Grimes called the meeting to order at 1:05 p.m.

The draft minutes from the November 9, 2011, meeting were previously posted and circulated to Council.  The minutes were approved as submitted.


Chairman’s Report
Mr. Grimes introduced special guests U.S. Attorneys Tim Heaphy and Neil McBride, each of whom made a few brief comments.

Old Business

CASC Budget Update
Mr. Harris reminded membership that he is submitting 2/4/6% budget cut proposals and that any cut will implicate employee salaries.

DCJS Asset Forfeiture Request
Mr. Harris reported that he has made application to the Criminal Justice Services Board for asset forfeiture funds to pay for training programs.  The primary need is funding for the 20th year of Top Gun, which requires approximately $40,000.

Byrne Grant Requests
Mr. Harris reported that CASC has requested renewal of the Byrne grant that funds the distance learning project headed by Dick Whetstone.  This project seeks to make on-line “distance learning” available to prosecutors via the state knowledge center.

Executive Program Update
Mr. Harris announced that 99 people registered for the Executive Program and that 100 binders of written materials were available.  He reported that the registration fees paid by attendees covered the cost of the Executive Program because no general funds were budgeted for the event.

Red Flag 2010:  Insurance Fraud Program Recap
Mr. Harris reported that in November CASC held Red Flag, an insurance fraud training program.  It was attended by special investigation units from private insurance companies, law enforcement officers and prosecutors.  It was funded entirely by the Virginia State Police Insurance Fraud Fund.  Next year the program will be scheduled in October so that attendees can get their CLE credits before the October 31 deadline.

Required Financial Disclosure Statement (§2.2-3118) for Council
Mr. Harris announced that yesterday he emailed a financial disclosure form to all Council members.  All Council members must submit the financial disclosure statement to him no later than January 12, 2012, so that he can send them to the Secretary of the Commonwealth by the January 17, 2012, deadline.  He clarified that this disclosure form is not the same as the statement of economic interest.

ABA Assessment of Death Penalty in Virginia
Mr. Harris reported that the ABA is conducting a national survey of the status of death penalty legislation, practices, etc.  This effort in Virginia is being chaired by John Douglas of the University of Richmond.   Mr. Harris recommends that Virginia prosecutors participate in the survey.  Mr. Grimes asked Mr. Morrogh, Mr. Ebert and Mr. Bryant to form an ad hoc sub-committee to be available to work with the ABA.  Mr. Harris will provide the ABA information to the sub-committee.


New Business

There being no further business before Council, the meeting adjourned at 1:32 p.m.  The next regularly scheduled meeting is Friday, January 24, 2012, 11:00 a.m., at the Comp Board Conference Room, Richmond, Virginia.