Press "Enter" to skip to content

December 1, 2016

Stonewall Jackson Hotel,

Council Members Present
Eric L. Olsen (Stafford County), Chairman
Patricia T. Watson (Greensville Co./Emporia), First Vice Chairman
Roy F. Evans (Smyth County), Second Vice Chairman
Jeffrey W. Haislip (Fluvanna County), Secretary
LaBravia J. Jenkins (Fredericksburg), Past Chairman

Council District Representatives:

1.  LaBravia J. Jenkins (Fredericksburg)
3.   Georgette C. Phillips (Isle of Wight)
4.   Ann Cabell Baskervill (Dinwiddie County)
5.   James P. Fisher (Fauquier County)
6.   Donald S. Caldwell (Roanoke City)
7.   Travis D. Bird (Spotsylvania County)
9.   Christian E. Rehak (Radford)
10. Marc H. Abrams (Winchester)

Other Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Present
Joel R. Branscom (Botetourt County)
Paul B. Ebert (Prince William County)
E. M. Wright (Buckingham County)
Michael R. Doucette (Lynchburg)
John L. Mahoney (Caroline County)
Holly Smith (Gloucester County)
Colin D. Stolle (Virginia Beach)
Gregory D. Underwood (Norfolk)
C. Phillips Ferguson (Suffolk)
William B. Bray (Colonial Heights)
R. Bryan Haskins (Pittsylvania County)
David L. Ledbetter (Waynesboro)
John C. Singleton (Bath County)
Theresa J. Royall (Nottoway County)
Bryan L. Porter (Alexandria)
Gerald D. Arrington (Buchanan County)
Charles H. Slemp (Wise County)
James E. Plowman (Loudoun County)
Ross P. Spicer (Frederick County)
Michael Newman (Danville)
Tom Bowers (Salem)
Nancy Parr (Chesapeake)
Keri Gusmann (King George County)
Julia Sichol (Westmoreland County)
Billy Davenport (Chesterfield County)
Trip Chalkley (Hanover County)
Rick Newman (Hopewell)
Susan Fierro (Prince George County)
Megan Clark (Prince Edward County)
Ed Stein (Alleghany County)
Derek Davis (Surry County)
Eric Cooke (Southampton County)
Mike Herring (Richmond)
Steve Eubank (Amherst County – Acting CA)
Shannon Taylor (Henrico County)
Tracy Q. Martin (Halifax County)
Spencer Morgan (Accomack County)
Michael Hurd (Middlesex County)
Vince Donoghue (Essex County)

Deputy Commonwealth’s Attorneys Present
Tom Shaia (Suffolk)
Petra Haskins (Danville)
Sandra Workman (Salem)
Karen Rucker (Hampton)
Chris Bullard (Richmond)
Andrew Childress (Amherst)
Heather Hovermale (Winchester)
Betty Jo Anthony (Roanoke City)
Susan Hooks (Virginia Beach)
Lori Galbraith (Chesapeake)

CASC Staff Present
Jane Sherman Chambers
Elliott Casey

Call to Order
Mr. Olsen called the meeting to order at 3:10 p.m.

The draft minutes from the November 9, 2016, meeting were previously posted and circulated to Council.  The minutes were approved as submitted.

Chairman’s Report
Mr. Olsen welcomed everyone to Staunton.

Administrator’s Report
Ms. Chambers reviewed the agenda items:

Old Business

CATF Update
Ms. Chambers reviewed the October CATF statement that was circulated by email prior to the meeting.  She advised members that the primary expenditure will be the upcoming 2017 Spring Institute at which all attendees expenses will be reimbursed from the fund.

2017 Spring Institute Reimbursement Process Update
Ms. Chambers explained the process that CASC will use to provide reimbursement for attendee expenses at the 2017 Spring Institute.  She advised that Ms. Heard will send a quick survey next week.  Ms. Chambers and Mr. Olsen emphasized the importance of responding promptly to Ms. Heard’s communications about this process due to the extremely complicated and time-consuming nature of this new endeavor.

2016 Executive Program Update
Mr. Casey provided an update about the Executive Program, reporting that 133 people registered to attend the program.  Mr. Casey reviewed the program agenda, social events and local discounts.  He encouraged members to stop by and talk to the vendors.  Finally, Mr. Casey reported that the 2017 Executive Program will be held in Charlottesville from November 30 – December 2, 2017.


New Business

2017 CASC Training Program Schedule
Ms. Chambers reminded members that all CASC program dates and information can be found on the CASC website.  She circulated a screen shot of the CASC homepage which lists the next year’s upcoming training program schedule.


There being no further business before Council, the meeting adjourned at 3:28 p.m.  The next regularly scheduled meeting is Tuesday, January 24, 2017, at 11:00 a.m. at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Richmond.