Press "Enter" to skip to content

December 4, 2019

Henrico Sheriff’s Office

Council Members Present
Roy F. Evans (Smyth County), Chairman
Jeffrey W. Haislip (Fluvanna County), First Vice Chairman
Colin D. Stolle (Virginia Beach), Second Vice Chairman
Theo K. Stamos (Arlington County/Falls Church), Secretary

Council District Representatives:
1.  LaBravia J. Jenkins (Fredericksburg)
2.  Nathan R. Green (Williamsburg/James City County)
5.  Megan L. Clark (Prince Edward County)
8.  Bryan L. Porter (Alexandria)
10.  Marc H. Abrams (Winchester)

Other Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Present
Donald S. Caldwell (Roanoke City)
E. M. Wright (Buckingham County)
John L. Mahoney (Caroline County)
Eric L. Olsen (Stafford County)
Beverly P. Leatherbury (Northampton County)
Benjamin M. Hahn (York County/Poquoson)
Anton A. Bell (Hampton)
Gregory D. Underwood (Norfolk)
C. Phillips Ferguson (Suffolk)
Susan O. Fierro (Prince George County)
Tracy Q. Martin (Halifax County)
R. Bryan Haskins (Pittsylvania County)
Marsha L. Garst (Rockingham County/Harrisonburg)
Paul R. Walther (Culpeper County)
Shannon L. Taylor (Henrico County)
Christian E. Rehak (Radford)
Keri Gusmann (King George County)
Aaron Lavinder (Roanoke County)
John Alexander (Botetourt County)
Rick Newman (Hopewell)
Trip Chalkley (Hanover County)
Nancy G. Parr (Chesapeake)
Tom Bowers (Salem)
Mary Pettitt (Montgomery County)
Pat Scales (Cumberland County)
Andrew Nester (Henry County)
Matt Kite (King William County)
Julia Sichol (Westmoreland County)
Bethany Harrison (Lynchburg)
Colette McEachin (Richmond)
Cheryl Wilson (Petersburg)
Fuller Cridlin (Lee County)
Josh Cumbow (Washington County)
Clarissa Berry (Madison County)
Mike Jones (Wythe County)
Ann Gardner (Alleghany County)
Rusty McGuire (Louisa County)
Chris Singleton (Bath County)
Meagan Zwisohn (Gloucester County)
Daniel Rutherford (Nelson County)

Elizabeth Bushnell Myers, Assistant Attorney General
Kristina Robinson (Incoming Chief Deputy – Prince William County)
Amy Ashworth (Commonwealth’s Attorney-Elect – Prince William County)
Brian Holohan (Commonwealth’s Attorney-Elect – Roanoke County)
Matthew Snow (Incoming Chief Deputy – Loudoun County)
Roger Brooks (Commonwealth’s Attorney-Elect – Carroll County)
John S. Bell (Commonwealth’s Attorney-Elect – Warren County)

Deputy Commonwealth’s Attorneys Present
Petra Haskins (Danville)
Don Wolthius (Roanoke City)
D.J. Hansen (Chesapeake)
Matt Pollard (Salem)
Lori DiGiosia (Stafford County)
Wendy Hannah (Prince Edward County)
Heather Hovermale (Winchester)
Chris Bullard (Richmond)
Tiffany Buckner (Petersburg)
Marie Walls (Suffolk)
Cat Evans (Alexandria)
Jason Todd (Campbell County)

CASC Staff Present
Jane Sherman Chambers

VACA Staff Present
Michael R. Doucette, Executive Director


Call to Order
Mr. Evans called the meeting to order at 12:04 p.m.

The draft minutes from the November 6, 2019, meeting were previously posted and circulated to Council.  The minutes were approved as submitted.

Chairman’s Report

Administrator’s Report
Ms. Chambers reported that she just returned from the National Association of Prosecutor Coordinator’s Winter Meeting in Little Rock, Arkansas. As part of the agenda, she gave a presentation on the creation of the Virginia Commonwealth’s Attorneys Training Fund (CATF).

Old Business

CATF Update
Ms. Chambers reviewed the CATF balance sheet reflecting account activity through October 31, 2019.

Richmond Office & Meeting Space Update
Ms. Chambers explained the background on CASC’s search for training and meeting space. She reported that a lease has been finalized for space in the SunTrust Building in Richmond. She and CASC staff members are now in the process of selecting office furniture and equipment. They have an appointment on December 12 with SunTrust to select finishings. She does not anticipate taking possession of the space until April 2020 because of the Richmond permitting process.

DFS Customer Workgroup (CWG)
Ms. Chambers reported that she continues to work with the Department of Forensic Science in developing a customer workgroup (CWG). She reviewed the names of the volunteers, stating that volunteers will also be sought from the Virginia State Police and the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner.

New Officer Training – December 11 – 13, 2019 – Virginia Crossing Resort
Ms. Chambers reported that the Compensation Board’s annual New Constitutional Officer Training will be held next week at the Virginia Crossing’s Resort in Richmond. The first 1.5 days will be Comp Board agenda items and the second 1.5 days will include information about CASC, VACA, VCJF, Victim Witness and the Virginia Victims Fund. Bryan Porter and Elliott Casey have worked to develop a full day of training particularly pertinent to new Commonwealth’s Attorneys.

Reminder: New CASC Audit Protocol for Travel Reimbursements
Ms. Chambers reminded attendees of CASC’s new audit protocols for travel reimbursements that were announced at the August meeting in Virginia Beach. Copies of the new protocol and certification form were circulated with the meeting agenda. Ms. Chambers encouraged anyone with questions to talk to Tracey DeBord, CASC’s fiscal officer, who was working the Executive Program registration table.


New Business

OAG Animal Law Unit – Elizabeth Bushnell Myers, Assistant Attorney General
Ms. Myers circulated handouts from the OAG Animal Law Unit. She outlined the assistance that her office can provide to Commonwealth’s Attorneys in their cases involving animal abuse. Their services range from research to trial assistance to prosecuting cases in full. She encouraged attendees to contact her office for assistance. She shared with attendees a spreadsheet listing animal abuse-related case citations and each case’s most important legal points and holdings.

There being no further business before Council, the meeting adjourned at 2:25 p.m. The next regularly scheduled meeting is at the Delta Hotel in Richmond on January 21, 2020, at 11:00 a.m.