Press "Enter" to skip to content

February 16, 2017

Crowne Plaza Hotel, Richmond

Council Members Present

Eric L. Olsen (Stafford County), Chairman
Patricia T. Watson (Greensville Co./Emporia), First Vice Chairman
Jeffrey W. Haislip (Fluvanna County), Secretary
LaBravia J. Jenkins (Fredericksburg), Past Chairman

Council District Representatives:

1.  LaBravia J. Jenkins (Fredericksburg)
2.   Nathan R. Green (Williamsburg/James City County)
3.   Georgette C. Phillips (Isle of Wight)
4.   Ann Cabell Baskervill (Dinwiddie County)
6.   Donald S. Caldwell (Roanoke City)
7.   Travis D. Bird (Spotsylvania County)
8.   Theo K. Stamos (Arlington County/Falls Church)
10. Marc H. Abrams (Winchester)
11. Raymond F. Morrogh (Fairfax County)

Other Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Present
Paul B. Ebert (Prince William County)
E. M. Wright (Buckingham County)
Michael R. Doucette (Lynchburg)
Colin D. Stolle (Virginia Beach)
R. Bryan Haskins (Pittsylvania County)
David L. Ledbetter (Waynesboro)
Bryan L. Porter (Alexandria)
James E. Plowman (Loudoun County)
Ross P. Spicer (Frederick County)
Matt Kite (King Williams County)
Ben Hahn (York County/Poquoson)
Brian Madden (Warren County)
Mike Newman (Danville)

Deputy Commonwealth’s Attorneys Present
Betty Jo Anthony (Roanoke City)
Lori  DiGiosia (Stafford County)

CASC Staff Present
Jane Sherman Chambers

Call to Order
Mr. Olsen called the meeting to order at 11:03 a.m.

The draft minutes from the January 24, 2017, meeting were previously posted and circulated to Council.  The minutes were approved as submitted.

Chairman’s Report

Administrator’s Report
Ms. Chambers reviewed the agenda items:

Old Business

CATF Update
Ms. Chambers reviewed the CATF balance sheet through January 31, 2017, which was circulated with the meeting agenda.  Ms. Chambers and Mr. Caldwell advised that the CASC Finance Committee will be meeting to discuss the annual appropriation request that must be submitted every Fall.   She reported that the largest expenditure for the year will be the Spring Institute reimbursements which must be finalized by May 6, 2017.

Spring Institute Reimbursement Process Update
Ms. Chambers reported that Ms. Heard has heard from all Commonwealth’s Attorneys Offices and has set each office up in the statewide Cardinal accounting system.   Ms. Heard is finalizing the reimbursement forms that will be distributed to each office.  Ms. Chambers reminded members that CASC will be reimbursing lodging, meals, parking and mileage for those traveling more than 30 miles.  For those traveling less than 30 miles, CASC will reimburse lunch on Monday and Tuesday and parking.  At this point the estimated cost of statewide reimbursements will be $666,847.00.

2017 Spring Institute Program Update
A draft of the 2017 Spring Institute agenda was circulated.  Ms. Chambers reported that 587 people have registered so far.  Lodging is still available at the Crowne Plaza Hotel and the Omni Hotel.

NAGTRI Officer-Involved Shooting Training
Ms. Chambers reminded members that registration recently opened for the National Attorneys General Training and Research Institute (NAGTRI) officer-involved shooting training which will be conducted alongside Spring Institute at the Richmond Marriott on April 3 – 4, 2017.  Attendance is restricted to Commonwealth’s Attorneys and Chief Deputies, City/County Attorneys and Chief Deputies, Sheriffs and Chiefs of Police.  So far 49 people have registered to attend that program.  This program comes highly recommended from those who have attended it previously.

Asset Forfeiture Training
Ms. Chambers reported that 208 people have registered to attend the asset forfeiture training to be held in Chesterfield on March 9, 2017.   It is open to Commonwealth’s Attorneys, assistants and staff, plus law enforcement and their civilian personnel.

Prosecuting Economic Crimes Program
Ms. Chambers reported that the Prosecuting Economic Crimes program will be held in Blacksburg from February 26, 2017 to March 2, 2017.  Twenty-seven people have registered to attend.  Registration is still open.

CASC Distinguished Faculty Awards Committee
Ms. Chambers asked for clarification as to whether CASC Faculty Awards Committee members must be on Council.  After discussion, a motion was made to allow non-Council members to serve on the committee, with the understanding that only Council members may vote for the award recipients.  The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.  Committee members are:  Colin Stolle, Theo Stamos, David Ledbetter and Julia Hutt Sichol.

New Business

Enforcement of COIA Violations
Mr. Olsen reminded members that Commonwealth’s Attorneys are charged with collecting $250 fines from those failing to timely complete their Statements of Economic Interest.  Mr. Morrogh inquired if this was discretionary.  Discussion ensued.  Mr. Olsen stated that he will request a formal opinion on this issue from COIA Counsel. He also recommended that the Virginia Association of Commonwealth’s Attorneys consider pursuing a legislative change to transfer civil fine collection to COIA Counsel.

Venue for 2019 Executive Program
Ms. Chambers reported that it is time to decide on a venue for the 2019 Executive Program.  Staunton falls next in the usual rotation.  A motion was made, seconded and passed to return to Staunton in 2019.

Public Comment

There being no further business before Council, the meeting adjourned at 11:38 a.m.  The next regularly scheduled meeting is Sunday, April 2, 2017, 1:00 p.m. at the Richmond Marriott Downtown.