Press "Enter" to skip to content

January 23, 2018

Delta Hotel, Richmond

Council Members Present
Patricia T. Watson (Greensville Co./Emporia), Chairman
Roy F. Evans (Smyth County), First Vice Chairman
Jeffrey W. Haislip (Fluvanna County), Second Vice Chairman
James E. Plowman (Loudoun County), Secretary

Council District Representatives:

1.   LaBravia J. Jenkins (Fredericksburg)
3.   Georgette C. Phillips (Isle of Wight)
6.   David L. Ledbetter (Waynesboro)
8.   Bryan L. Porter (Alexandria)

Other Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Present
E. M. Wright (Buckingham County)
John L. Mahoney (Caroline County)
Holly Smith (Gloucester County)
Colin D. Stolle (Virginia Beach)
Gregory D. Underwood (Norfolk)
R. Bryan Haskins (Pittsylvania County)
W. Lyle Carver (Amherst County)
Theresa J. Royall (Nottoway County)
Shannon L. Taylor (Henrico County)
Theo K. Stamos (Arlington County)
Christian E. Rehak (Radford)
Nancy Parr (Chesapeake)
Julia Sichol (Westmoreland County)
Matt Kite (King William County)
Brian Madden (Warren County)
Rusty McGuire (Louisa County)

VACA Administrators
Donald S. Caldwell
Betty Jo Anthony
Michael R. Doucette

Deputy Commonwealth’s Attorneys Present
Robert Bauer (Prince Edward County)
Tom Shaia (Suffolk)
Lori DiGiosia (Stafford County)
John Childrey (Chesterfield County)
Susan Hooks (Virginia Beach)

CASC Staff Present
Jane Sherman Chambers
Elliott Casey
Nancy Oglesby

Call to Order
Ms. Watson called the meeting to order at 11:06 a.m.

The draft minutes from the November 30, 2017, meeting were previously posted and circulated to Council.  The minutes were approved as submitted.

Chairman’s Report

Administrator’s Report
Ms. Chambers reviewed the agenda items:

Old Business

CATF Update
Ms. Chambers reviewed the CATF balance sheet reflecting account activity through December 31, 2017.

2017 Executive Program Recap
Mr. Casey reported that 147 people registered to attend the 2017 Executive Program.  Eight vendors participated.  100% of the program evaluations rated the program Excellent or Good.  The Saturday morning marijuana presentation, in particular, was both timely and very highly rated.  Ms. Chambers reported that thus far CASC has issued $43,384.21 in expense reimbursements.  She further reported that 23 offices have not yet submitted for reimbursement.  Mr. Ledbetter made a motion to give offices 30 days in which to submit for reimbursement after future CASC programs.  The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.  Mr. Ledbetter made a second motion to have CASC send the 23 offices who have not submitted for the 2017 Executive Program an email stating that they have 10 days in which to submit their reimbursement or they will lose the opportunity.  The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

Mr. Casey provided instruction on how to download CASC’s new app.  He then provided a live demonstration of its features.  He received a very positive response.

New Business

Report for 2017 NAPC Winter Conference
Ms. Chambers reported that she attended the 2017 NAPC Winter Conference in Springdale, Utah, from December 3 – 6, 2017.  She was elected Secretary/Treasurer to complete an unexpired term.  She anticipates that she will become NAPC President in the summer of 2019.  Ms. Chambers reviewed the topics that were addressed during the conference.

2018 Spring Institute Update
Mr. Casey reported that over 480 people have registered thus far for CASC’s 2018 Spring Institute to be held at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott from April 15 – 18, 2018. Over 800 attendees are expected.  Ms. Chambers reviewed the overflow hotel options. A draft agenda was circulated.  Ms. Chambers complimented Mr. Casey for doing an excellent job preparing for this event.

Public Comment


There being no further business before Council, the meeting adjourned at 11:25 a.m.  The next regularly scheduled meeting is February 15, 2018, 11:00 a.m., at the Delta Hotel, Richmond.