Press "Enter" to skip to content

January 24, 2023

Richmond, VA

Council Members Present

Anton A. Bell (Hampton), First Vice Chairman
Bryan L. Porter (Alexandria), Second Vice Chairman (Zoom)
Julia H. Sichol (Westmoreland County), Secretary
Nathan R. Green (James City County/Williamsburg), Past Chairman

Council District Representatives:
1. Krystyn L. Reid (York County)
2. Matthew R. Hamel (Chesapeake)
3. Stephanie N. Morales (Portsmouth)(Zoom: Approved for remote attendance)
4. Vincent L. Robertson (Sussex County)
5. Bethany A. S. Harrison (Lynchburg) (Zoom: Approved for remote attendance)
6. David L. Ledbetter (Waynesboro)
7. Clarissa T. Berry (Madison County)(Zoom: Approved for remote attendance)
8. Bryan L. Porter (Alexandria)(Zoom)
9. Michael D. Jones (Wythe County)(Zoom: Approved for remote attendance)
10. Amy M. Ashworth (Prince William Co.)(Zoom: Approved for remote attendance)

Other Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Present
Donald S. Caldwell (Roanoke City)
Jeff Haislip (Fluvanna County)
Patricia T. Watson (Greensville County/Emporia)(Zoom)
Colin D. Stolle (Virginia Beach)
Jim Hingeley (Albemarle County)
Travis Bird (Spotsylvania County)
Narendra Pleas (Suffolk)(Zoom)
Ramin Fatehi (Norfolk)(Zoom)
Derek A. Davis (Surry County)(Zoom)
Megan L. Clark (Prince Edward County)(Zoom)
Heather D. Hovermale (Winchester)(Zoom)
Parisa Dehghani-Tafti (Arlington County/Falls Church)(Zoom)
Gerald D. Arrington (Buchanan County)(Zoom)
Christian E. Rehak (Radford) (Zoom)
Justin Griffith (Pulaski County)(Zoom)
Stacey T. Davenport (Chesterfield County)(Zoom)
Tracy Q. Martin (Halifax County) (Zoom)
Brandon Boyles (Grayson Co.)(Zoom)
Brian Holohan (Roanoke County)(Zoom)
Wes Nance (Bedford County)(Zoom)
Cooper Brown (Franklin County)(Zoom)
Tiffany Buckner (Petersburg)(Zoom)
Mary Pettitt (Montgomery County) (Zoom)
Mike Newman (Danville) (Zoom)
Colette McEachin (Richmond) (Zoom)
John Mahoney (Caroline County) (Zoom)
Gray Collins (Colonial Heights) (Zoom)
Leanne Watrous (Nottoway County)

Deputy Commonwealth’s Attorneys Present
John McNeil (Roanoke) (Zoom)
Kristen Knudsen (Prince George County) (Zoom)
D.J. Hansen (Chesapeake) (Zoom)
Erin Barr (Colonial Heights) (Zoom)
Shari Skipper (Hanover County) (Zoom)
Megan Zwisohn (Rockbridge Co./Lexington) (Zoom)
Erik Laub (Nelson County) (Zoom)

CASC Staff Present
Jane Sherman Chambers
Elliott Casey

VACA Staff Present
Amanda Howie, Administrator

Call to Order
Mr. Bell called the meeting to order at 11:00 AM.

The draft minutes from the November 30, 2022, meeting were previously posted and circulated to Council. The minutes were approved as submitted.

Chairman’s Report

Administrator’s Report
Ms. Chambers reviewed the agenda items:

Old Business

New Council Members
Ms. Chambers circulated a list of newly-elected Council and Board members with the meeting agenda. The list reflects the results of the elections held on December 2, 2022, at the VACA Annual Meeting. Due to recent redistricting, all districts were up for election in 2022. Ms. Chambers welcomed new members and commended their attendance at the first meeting.

CATF Update
Ms. Chambers reviewed the CATF balance sheet reflecting account activity through December 31, 2022.

2023 Spring Institute Update
Ms. Chambers circulated the most recent copy of the 2023 Spring Institute agenda. She reminded Commonwealth’s Attorneys that the new 50-person Leadership Track on Tuesday, April 4, 2023, initially is open for elected’s only. It will be opened up to all management level attorneys on March 1 if the 50 slots are not filled.

Ms. Chambers further reported that hotels have filled up quickly, but at this point she has not heard of a need to locate an additional overflow hotel. If that changes, she asked that she be told as soon as possible.

New FOIA Public Meeting Policy
Ms. Chambers circulated with the meeting agenda the recently-approved remote meeting attendance policy for Council members. She was very pleased that so many sought prior approval from the Chairperson, as required. Each of the approvals was based on the 60+ mile rule.

2023 Meeting & Event Calendar
Ms. Chambers circulated the 2023 Meeting & Event calendars and asked Council members to please mark their calendars for Council meetings. She noted that the VACA special meeting on March 17 is not on the list. Additionally, VACA Justice & Professionalism meeting dates will be announced at a later time.

New Business

2025 Executive Program Venue
Ms. Chambers reported that it is time to select a location for the 2025 Executive Program. This year the Executive Program will be held in Roanoke and 2024 will be in Charlottesville. CASC’s typical rotation for this program would put it in Staunton for 2025. No one had any objection to returning to Staunton in 2025.

Commonwealth Data Trust Membership
Ms. Chambers alerted members to the existence of the Commonwealth Data Trust and reported that the Secretary of Public Safety & Homeland Security is encouraging all his agencies to sign a membership agreement. Ms. Chambers indicated that she is not sure what data CASC would have that would be appropriate for submission. She has reached out to the administration to schedule a meeting to discuss. She is waiting to hear back.

Public Comment

There being no further business before Council, the meeting adjourned at 11:16 AM. The next regularly scheduled meeting is February 14, 2023, at 11:00 AM, at the CASC offices at Truist Place (formerly SunTrust Building), 919 E. Main Street, Suite 1250, Richmond.