Press "Enter" to skip to content

May 4, 2011

Henrico Sheriff’s Office

Members Present
Christian E. Rehak (Radford)
Donald S. Caldwell (Roanoke City)
Neil S. Vener (Campbell County)
LaBravia J. Jenkins (Fredericksburg)
Nancy G. Parr (Chesapeake)
Robert L. Bushnell (Henry County)
Alexander R. Iden (Winchester)
Harvey Bryant (Virginia Beach)
Wade A. Kizer (Henrico County)
S. Randolph Sengel (Alexandria)

Other Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Present
Paul B. Ebert (Prince William County)
Linda D. Curtis (Hampton)
Nathan R. Green (Williamsburg/James City County)
Patricia T. Watson (Greensville/Emporia)
E. M. Wright (Buckingham County)
James R. Ennis (Prince Edward County)
James E. Plowman (Loudoun County)
Gregory Underwood (Norfolk)

CASC Staff Present
Robert Q. Harris
Jane Sherman Chambers

Call to Order
Mr. Vener presided and called the meeting to order at 11:05 a.m.

The draft minutes from the March 20, 2011, meeting were previously posted and circulated to Council.  The minutes were approved as submitted.

Chairman’s Report


Administrator’s Report
Mr. Harris addressed the agenda items.

Old Business
Mr. Harris reported that CASC Spring Institute expenses largely were covered by the $50/person registration fee.  He noted that Spring Institute evaluations reflect that, while some people will always love having Spring Institute in Williamsburg, many people were dissatisfied with the crowded conditions at the Ft. Magruder Hotel.  He reminded Council that CASC already has signed a contract with the Norfolk Marriott for Spring Institute 2012.

New Business

CASC Workgroup Participation
Mr. Harris reported that the Secretary of Public Safety has convened three statewide workgroups to address:  1) domestic violence, 2) asset forfeiture and 3) gang-related issues.  Commonwealth’s Attorneys Michael R. Doucette and Joel R. Branscom, along with CASC staff attorney Jane Chambers, were appointed to the domestic violence workgroup, formally entitled the Domestic Violence Prevention and Response Advisory Board.  Commonwealth’s Attorneys Robert Beasley, Donald S. Caldwell and Harvey L. Bryant, III, serve on the asset forfeiture workgroup, along with Deputy Commonwealth’s Attorney Tom Shaia.  That group is conducting a global look at everything to do with asset forfeiture.  Mr. Harris reported that he and CASC Staff Attorney Walter E. “Ed” Hibbard, represent CASC on the gang workgroup.  He said that the workgroup meets frequently and is focusing on training, even for judges and magistrates.  All of these workgroups will report to the Governor by September 2011.

2011 Capital Litigation Grant Extension
CASC applied for and received an extension of the 2009 federal grant supporting training of prosecutors in capital litigation.  The remaining funds will be used to fund an update at the Annual Meeting, provide scholarships to some Virginia prosecutors to the AGACL conference in July 2011, and for an additional statewide training before the end of September 2011.  CASC will use an application process to award the applications to provide the assistance to prosecutors who currently have such cases pending.


VACA Annual Meeting Training
Mr. Harris summarized the annual program agenda, which will include presentations on forfeiture by wrongdoing, an update on gang activity throughout the state, proving gang participation and fundamentals of asset forfeiture.

Mr. Harris raised the issue of a registration fee for CLE’s at the annual summer conference.  He reminded Council that there was a $50/person registration fee both at the 2010 Executive Program and at the 2011 Spring Institute.  CASC no longer has budgeted general funds for this purpose.  A $50 CLE fee at the beach will largely cover all of CASC’s expenses associated with the annual summer conference.  Mr. Bushnell moved that Council impose a $50/person registration fee for CLE’s at the annual summer conference.  The motion was seconded by Mr. Bryant.  The motion passed unanimously.

John R. Justice Awards
Mr. Harris inquired if anyone has John R. Justice award applicants in their office and if they had received an award.  Mr. Underwood stated one of his assistants heard from DCJS of their award last week.  Mr. Harris said that approximately 30 prosecutors applied under the program and that approximately 19 had received awards.


There being no further business before Council, the meeting adjourned at 11:30 a.m.  The next regularly scheduled meeting is Wednesday, June 15, 2011, 11:00 am, at the Henrico County Sheriff’s Office.