Press "Enter" to skip to content

November 6, 2013

Henrico Sheriff’s Office

Council Members Present
Raymond F. Morrogh (Fairfax County), Chairman
Nancy G. Parr (Chesapeake), First Vice Chairman
LaBravia J. Jenkins (Fredericksburg), Second Vice Chairman
Michael R. Doucette (Lynchburg), Past Chairman

Council District Representatives:

1.   LaBravia J. Jenkins (Fredericksburg)
5.   Denise Lunsford (Albemarle County)
7.   William W. Davenport (Chesterfield County)
10. Alexander R. Iden (Winchester)
11. Raymond F. Morrogh (Fairfax County)

Other Commonwealth’s Attorneys Present
Joel R. Branscom (Botetourt County)
Robert B. Beasley (Powhatan County)
Nathan R. Green (Williamsburg/James City County)
C. Phillips Ferguson (Suffolk)
Patricia T. Watson (Greensville/Emporia)
Jeffrey W. Haislip (Fluvanna County)
James R. Ennis (Prince Edward County)
William F. Neely (Spotsylvania County)
Theo K. Stamos (Arlington/Falls Church)
James E. Plowman (Loudoun County)
Ross P. Spicer (Frederick County)
Michael Herring (Richmond)
Shannon Taylor (Henrico County)
Terry Royall (Nottoway County)

CASC Staff Present
Robert Q. Harris
Jane Sherman Chambers
Marian Heard

Call to Order
Mr. Morrogh called the meeting to order at 11:38 a.m.

The draft minutes from the September 25, 2013, meeting were previously posted and circulated to Council.  The minutes were approved as submitted.

Chairman’s Report
Mr. Morrogh congratulated Ms. Parr on her victory in yesterday’s election.

Administrator’s Report
Mr. Harris reviewed the agenda items:

Old Business

Update on 2013 Executive Program – Hotel Roanoke – December 5 – 7, 2013
Mr. Harris announced that yesterday was the last day to book a room in our block at the Hotel Roanoke.  A draft agenda has been circulated.  Mr. Harris reminded members that on Friday, December 6, from 10:15 am – 12:15 pm, Kristine Hamann will be talking about establishing best practices committees.

2014 Executive Program Site Selected
Mr. Harris announced that the 2014 Executive Program will be held in Staunton.  A contract has been signed with the Stonewall Jackson Hotel.

Abbott Labs MOU Status

Joel Branscom updated the members on the current status of the Abbott Labs MOU.  Since the September meeting, the Commonwealth’s Attorneys’ working on this matter learned that the Treasury Executive Office for Asset Forfeiture (TEOAF) had indicated that they were comfortable with the $2million distribution for Commonwealth’s Attorneys’ offices based on number of Comp Board funded positions.  There seemed to be some confusion at the TEOAF  about the $18million “endowment” feature of the MOU and CASC.  Subsequent communications from the Attorney General’s office indicate that additional information has been provided to the TEOAF about the $18 million piece.  Mr. Branscom advised that individual Commonwealth’s Attorneys offices likely will need to complete the paperwork to be authorized to share in equitable distributions of federal criminal asset forfeitures.  Those that are not already compliant will need to file an Equitable Sharing Agreement and Certificate in order to be eligible to receive such funding from the $2million distribution.   A digital version of the form will be circulated among Commonwealth’s Attorneys.


New Business

Asset Forfeiture Assistance Teams
Mr. Harris reported that regional asset forfeiture faculty teams have been put together.  These faculty teams also will serve as regional experts/resources.  Tom Shaia recruited these volunteers and they participated in the statewide asset forfeiture training last month.  Each CA’s office will receive their faculty contact information soon.  Mr. Harris commended Mr. Shaia for his dedication to this project.

There being no further business before Council, the meeting adjourned at 11:50 a.m.  The next regularly scheduled meeting is Thursday, December 5, 3:00 p.m., at the Hotel Roanoke during the Executive Program.