Press "Enter" to skip to content

October 29, 2014

Henrico Sheriff’s Office

Council Members Present
Nancy G. Parr (Chesapeake), Chairman
Patricia T. Watson (Greensville County/Emporia), Secretary

Council District Representatives:

(1)  James P. Fisher (Fauquier County)
(2)  Colin D. Stolle (Virginia Beach)
(5)  Denise Lunsford (Albemarle County)
(6)  Donald S. Caldwell (Roanoke City)
(7)  Shannon L. Taylor (Henrico County)
(8)  Bryan L. Porter (Alexandria)

Other Commonwealth’s Attorney’s Present
Joel R. Branscom (Botetourt County)
Paul B. Ebert (Prince William County)
Michael R. Doucette (Lynchburg)
Holly Smith (Gloucester County)
Cassandra S. Conover (Petersburg)
C. Phillips Ferguson (Suffolk)
Jeffrey W. Haislip (Fluvanna County)
James R. Ennis (Prince Edward County)
John C. Singleton (Bath County)
William F. Neely (Spotsylvania County)
Theo K. Stamos (Arlington/Falls Church)
Roy F. Evans (Smyth County) (via Skype)
James E. Plowman (Loudoun County)
Michael Herring (Richmond)

Deputy Commonwealth’s Attorneys Present
Brent Johnson, Chief Deputy Commonwealth’s Attorney (Norfolk)
Susan Hooks, Chief Deputy Commonwealth’s Attorney (Virginia Beach)

Steven Buck, Deputy Director, Medicaid Fraud Control Unit, Office of the Attorney General

CASC Staff Present
Jane Sherman Chambers
Marian Heard
Larry Martin

Call to Order
Ms. Parr called the meeting to order at 12:04 p.m.

The draft minutes from the September 24, 2014, meeting were previously posted and circulated to Council.  The minutes were approved as submitted.

Chairman’s Report
Ms. Parr introduced guest Steve Buck from the Office of the Attorney General.

Administrator’s Report
Ms. Chambers reported that she attended a DCJS Blueprints for Change meeting regarding the qualifications for gun purchase and possession in Virginia.  One idea that was raised was the creation of a gun violence restraining order that would temporarily restrict gun possession during times of crisis in cases of substance abuse and domestic violence.   Ms. Chambers also reported on the recommendations of the Special Conservators of the Peace (SCOPS) Taskforce.  Mr. Doucette followed up by reporting that the SCOPS issue was referred to the Crime Commission and was addressed at their most recent meeting.

Old Business

Update on the 2014 Executive Program – Stonewall Jackson Hotel – Dec. 4 – 6, 2014: Ms. Chambers reported that as of October 29, approximately 82 elected Commonwealth’s Attorneys and 27 Deputy Commonwealth’s Attorneys have registered for the training.  Ms. Parr reminded those present that elected Commonwealth’s Attorneys are eligible to request reimbursement for up to three nights lodging while attending this year’s Executive Program, depending on their driving distance from Staunton.  Ms. Parr urged all members to attend the next Board and Council meetings on Thursday, December 4, 2014 at 2 p.m.

Abbott Lab Update: 
Deferred to VACA agenda.

New Business

New Board members:
Ms. Parr announced that two current council members will be resigning on December 1, 2014, when they will be sworn in as judges: Earle Mobley, (Portsmouth) currently serving as the Third District Representative and L. Wayne Farmer (Isle of Wight) currently serving as the Fourth District Representative. An election to fill these vacancies will be held at the Council meeting on December 4, 2014 at 2 p.m. Ms. Chambers advised that she will notify the Commonwealth’s Attorneys in these two districts of the election to fill these anticipated vacancies.

There being no further business before Council, the meeting adjourned at 12:19 p.m.  The next regularly scheduled meeting is Thursday, December 4, 2014, 2:00 p.m., at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel, Staunton, Virginia.